Color Study

The Old Bulldozer

One of the things that I want to learn in this class is to improve my HDR photography. I saw this bulldozer and knew it was going to be a great HDR photo. I built my whole color study around this picture. First I bracketed three pictures, and merged them together in Photomatix. I then blurred the sky, so that it wasn’t so grainy. Lastly I added a vignette around the picture. This picture has an large depth of field.

 

Fall Flowers

One of the things that I needed to do for this color study was to get a picture with a shallow depth of field. I saw these flowers and I thought perfect. I loved the purple pictures in the background. I sharpened the picture up a little bit, and bumped the expose up a little, and that was about all.

 

Bike Rack

I loved how there was this one yellow bike in a sea of other bikes. I thought that I would be perfect for my color study. The only editing I really did on this picture was to make the picture a little warmer, and bumped up the saturation and vibrance.

 

Playground

I loved the color contrast in this piece of playground picture. I think that the blue and yellow go nicely together. I cropped this picture a little, and I saturated the yellow a little and desaturated the blue to make the yellow pop a little more. 

Image

 

1. Name: The Old Bulldozer

Date: 9/28/2013

Location: Rexburg, Idaho

FStop: 22

Shutter Speed: 1/8, 1/20, .3

Camera: Nikon D70

Other: Tripod, HDR, ISO 200, Deep Depth of Field

Image

 

2. Name: Fall Flowers

Date: 9/30/2013

Location: Rexburg, Idaho

FStop: 4.5

Shutter Speed: 1/6000

Camera: Nikon D70

Other: ISO 200, Shallow Depth of Field

Image

 

3. Name: Bike Rack

Date: 9/30/2013

Location: Rexburg, Idaho

FStop: 5.0

Shutter Speed: 1/6000

Camera: Nikon D70

Other: Tripod, ISO 200

Image

4. Name: Playground

Date: 9/30/2013

Location: Rexburg, Idaho

FStop: 6.3

Shutter Speed 1/1000

Camera: Nikon D70

Other: ISO 200

 

 

4 thoughts on “Color Study

  1. You have some amazing editing skills! I love the picture of the Bulldozer. The yellow really pops and the sky in the background is amazing. It almost looks like water. You captured some really amazing color in that photo. I also thought that the bike image was really striking for such an everyday-college-campus object. Great Photos!

  2. Pingback: Fall at Falling Springs | All Around

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Saturated – The Color of Flowers | I see beauty all around by rob paine

Leave a Reply

